+Complete Section Listing

The Southwest Section is committed to promoting sound planning practices based on ethical principles to help the community improve its quality of life, realize its goals, and secure its future.

Upcoming Events | Bylaws | Strategic Plan | Board of Directors


Upcoming Events

  • Planners Forum and Quarterly General Membership Meeting: 

April 17 (9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.) in lovely Stevenson, WA. This forum will be an interactive discussion with leaders in transportation planning to explore the interconnectivity of land use and transportation for those communities that are subject to GMA or not subject to GMA.
Location: Hegewald Center - 710 SW Rock Creek Dr., Stevenson, WA 98648

  • Urban activism (It’s Back!): April 27 (8:00 – 3:00 p.m.)

Location: SE 77th Ct. and Middle Way, Vancouver
Join us as we build homes with Habitat for Humanity at their site near SR-14.
RSVP to [email protected] or phone Sarah at (360) 817-7269

  • Cycle the Couv Tour! Date: May 30th (5:30 – 8:00 p.m.)

Location: Loowit Brewing (507 Columbia Street, Vancouver)
Join us on a group bicycle as we cruise to three local breweries. It is equipped with a sound system, lighting, a cooler and it holds up to 14 passengers! Oh…did I mention that we play games along the way? Don’t worry. If we are lagging, there is an electronic assist to boost us along. 

  • Monthly Executive Board Meetings
    • March 20 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. (Lapellah, 2520 Columbia House Blvd #108, Vancouver, WA)
    • April 17 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. (Andrews Pizza, 310 2nd St, Stevenson, WA)
    • May 15 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. conference call
Also, keep up-to-date and connect with us on Facebook!

Section Bylaws

The bylaws are the organizing and operating protocols for the SW Section. The most recent version was unanimously voted for approval on July 18, 2018.

Read the Southwest Chapter Bylaws

Strategic Plan

The Southwest Section exists to support our members, to advance the planning profession and to make communities great. The Strategic Plan includes prioritized goals, strategies and actions items to be accomplished over a two-year period.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors meets for a conference call on the third Wednesday of every month at 12:00 p.m. except for January, April, July, and October when the Board meets at 12 noon at the SW Planners Forum (location varies).

Conference Call-Instructions: (513) 386-0000. Participant Access Code: 1024669#.
Executive Board email: [email protected]

President Sarah Fox, AICP
City of Camas
(360) 817-1562 ext. 4269
[email protected]
President-Elect Judith Perez

(360) 905-2053
[email protected]

Immediate Past-President Amanda Smeller  
Treasurer Jocelyn Cross Olson Engineering
(360) 695-1385
[email protected]
Secretary Sam Rubin BergerABAM
(360) 823-6115
[email protected]
Clark County Representative Jenna Kay

Clark County
(360) 397-2280  
[email protected]

Cowlitz County Representative

Jason Lugo 

 Cowlitz County 

360-577-3052 xt. 6677 
[email protected]

Skamania County Representative Ben Shumaker City of Skamania
(509) 427-5970
[email protected]
Professional Development Chair

Nick Fazio

Cowlitz County
360-577-3052 x6664
[email protected]

Communications Officer Don Hardy BergerABAM
(360) 823-6115
[email protected]
Legislative Liaison Brian Carrico BergerABAM
(360) 823-6122
[email protected]