Northwest Section

+Complete Section Listing
BylawsContacts | NW Section Resources


NW Section Bylaws (adopted by NW Section members at the April 18, 2017 Planner's Forum


Northwest Section President: Nora Nannery 


The NW Section Board of Directors are volunteers who work on behalf of APA Washington members who work and reside in Whatcom, Skagit, Island, and San Juan Counties. The NW Section works with the Washington Chapter of the American Planning Association, the Planning Association of Washington, and the Washington State Department of Commerce.

The NW Section organizes and hosts quarterly Planners' Forums that include:

  • Informal discussions about local issues, sharing of ideas, and providing updates from state and federal agencies whose work may influence local planning efforts;
  • Presentations provided by professionals on a variety of planning subjects;
  • Certification Maintenance (CM) credits through the American Institute of Certified Planners for AICP credentialed planners and advanced certificate planners (Environmental [CEP], Transportation [CTP], and Community Urban Design [CUD]);
  • Presentations are posted to the Department of Commerce website after each forum;
  • Anyone who wishes to participate.

During COVID-19, all quarterly forums are online with agendas and meeting links provided in advance to all NW Section members and all individuals on Commerce’s email list.  (Prior to the COVID-19 global pandemic, the location of the quarterly forum altered between the northern and southern ends of the diverse NW Section geography and, when it’s safe again for in-person gatherings, this alternating approach will resume). 

If you are interested in becoming more involved in the NW Section leadership or organization, please contact the individuals listed below and look at some of the other resources available here on the NW Section web page.