Planning Awards 2004

2004 APA/PAW Award Recipients

Student Plans

Merit Award : Town and Country: Envisioning Burlington, Preserving Skagit Farmland
Nancy Rottle, Professor
University of Washington Department of Landscape Architecture
P.O. Box 355734
Seattle, WA 98195-5734

Liz Birkholz; Liz Browning; Kelly Collins; Amy Cragg; Dottie Faris; Christina Frank; Shoji Kaneko; Dave Low; Chia-Lin Ma; Valerie Mehring; Jacob Millard; Trish Nellermoe; Charlie Page; Chris Saleeba; Keiko Shimada; Mary Lou Smith; Ya-Tung Tsai; and University of Washington Department of Landscape Architecture

Honor Award : Columbia National Wildlife Refuge Visitor Experience Enhancement Plan
William J. Kelley, Professor
Eastern Washington University Department of Urban & Regional Planning
668 North Riverpoint Boulevard, Suite A
Spokane, WA 99202-1660

Max Bunting; Lucas Cepero; Charisse Deschenes; Thea Drake; Mark Freeman; Chris Hansen; Jonathon Manley; Gideon Schreiber; Paul Weller; Shaun Williams; Tad Wisenor; Joe Eki; Eastern Washington University Department of Urban & Regional Planning

Physical Plans

Merit Award : Wenatchee Waterfront Sub-Area Plan
Dennis Johnson
City of Wenatchee
P.O. Box 519
Wenatchee, WA 98804-0519

City of Wenatchee; Chelan County Public Utility District; MAKERS; Heffron Transportation; Berk and Associates; J.A. Brennan Associates; J.T. Akins; and The Watershed Company

Honor Award : Waterfront Futures Project
Marcia Wagoner
RRR, Inc.
1109 First Avenue, Suite 300
Seattle, WA 98101

City of Bellingham; Port of Bellingham; PRR; and Ernst and Associates

Small Town Plans

Merit Award : Small Towns Web Mapping Project
Scott Carte
Thurston Regional Planning Council
2404 Heritage Court S.W., Suite B
Olympia, WA 98502

Thurston Regional Planning Council

Implementation Plans

Merit Award : Downtown Bremerton Revitalization Programs
Chris Hugo, Planning Director
City of Bremerton
239 4th Street
Bremerton, WA 98337

City of Bremerton; LMN Architects; Calthorpe Associates; Kitsap Housing Authority; Kitsap Transit; and Port of Bremerton

Honor Award : Gold Coast Historic District
Joeseph Schiessl
City of Richland
P.O. Box 190, MS-19
Richland, WA 99352

City of Richland; Pacific Northwest National Laboratory; and Washington State Office of Archaeology and Historic Preservation

Citizen Involvement Plans

Merit Award : Design Stanwood
Stephanie Cleveland, AICP
City of Stanwood
10220 270th Street N.W.
Stanwood, WA 98292

City of Stanwood; Design Stanwood; and Northwest Chapter of American Institute of Architects

Honor Award : Redmond Design Day Event
Roberta Lewandowski, Planning Director City of Redmond Planning & Community Development P.O. Box 97010, MS-CHPL Redmond, WA 98073-9710

City of Redmond

Transportation Plans

Merit Award : 2025 Regional Transportation Plan - Guiding Our Future
Thera Black, Senior Planner
Thurston Regional Planning Council
2404 Heritage Court S.W., Suite B
Olympia, WA 98502

Thurston Regional Planning Council

Honor Award : Burien Pedestrian and Bicycle Facilities Plan
Kirsten Pennington
City of Burien
415 S.W. 150th Street
Burien, WA 98166

City of Burien; Kirsten Pennington, AICP, Pomegranate Center; and J.A. Brennan & Associates

Partnering Plans

Merit Award : Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan for the Thurston Region
Susan Andrews
Thurston Regional Planning Council
2404 Heritage Court S.W., Suite B
Olympia, WA 98502

Thurston Regional Planning Council; and Emergency Management Council of Thurston County

Honor Award : Snohomish River Basin Salmon Conservation Plan
Martha Neuman
Snohomish County Public Works
Surface Water Management Division
2731 Wetmore Avenue, Suite 300
Everett, WA 98201

City of Everett; King County; Port of Everett; Snohomish County; and Tulalip Tribes

Mark Sollitto, City of North Bend and Forum Chair 
Terry Williams, Tulalip Tribes of Washington, Forum Vice-chair
Bill Knutsen
Scott Turner
Dale Reiner
Andy Werkhoven
The Boeing Company
Coordinated Diking Council
King Conservation District
Snohomish Conservation District
Cross Valley Water District
Clark Vellema 
Judi Patrick
Pilchuck Audubon Society
Cascade Land Conservancy
City of Duvall
City of Marysville
City of Seattle
City of Sultan
City of Gold Bar
City of Lake Stevens
City of Monroe
City of Snohomish
City of Snoqualmie
East King County Regional Water Association
Master Builder’s Association
Larry Johnson
Snohomish County Public Utility District
Snohomish County Sportmen’s Association 
Stilly-Snohomish Fisheries Enhancement Task Force
Town of Index
Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

These people are Forum staff:
Martha Neuman, Snohomish County Surface Water Management 
Andy Haas, Snohomish County Surface Water Management
Sandy Kilroy, King County and Snoqualmie Watershed Forum

Research Plans

Merit Award : Protecting Critical Areas within the framework of the Washington Growth Management Act
Nancy K. Ousley, Assistant Director
Department of Community Trade and Economic Development
128 10th Avenue S.E.
Olympia, WA 98504

Paul Ingrham
Berryman & Henigar 
720 3rd Avenue, Suite 1200
Seattle, WA 98104

Washington State Department of Community Trade and Economic Development; and Berryman & Henigar (Paul Inghram and Nancy Eklund)