Southwest

+Complete Section Listing

The Southwest Section is committed to promoting sound planning practices based on ethical principles to help the community improve its quality of life, realize its goals, and secure its future.

Upcoming Events

  • Feb 21st 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. SW WA APA Board Meeting at WSDOT Headquarters | 11018 NE 51st Circle Vancouver WA 98682, Conference Room 302
  • April 11th 9:00 – 4:00 p.m. GMA Critical Areas Training | Vancouver City Hall
  • Also, keep up-to-date and connect with us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/APAWAsouthwest

Take Our Survey

All SW WA Section members are asked to participate in a survey to better focus our efforts on planning professional development functions and providing opportunities. We will provide the results of the survey at our membership meeting this spring [TBD]. Take the survey now!

Section Bylaws

The bylaws are the organizing and operating protocols for the SW Section. The board would like to amend our bylaws at the next membership meeting on January 16, 2018, following the SW Planners Forum. The changes will include removing the position of Education Coordinator, as an active committee and changing the duties of our Communications Chair to be responsible for our electronic communication (e.g. Facebook and Linkedin), versus publishing a newsletter. Please review the draft and provide comments to our Executive Director Board. View draft bylaws. View section bylaws.

Strategic Plan

The Southwest Section exists to support our members, to advance the planning profession and to make communities great. The Strategic Plan includes prioritized goals, strategies and actions items to be accomplished over a two-year period.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors meets for a conference call on the third Wednesday of every month at 12:00 p.m. except for January, April, July, and October when the Board meets at 12 noon at the SW Planners Forum (location varies).

Conference Call-Instructions: (513) 386-0000. Participant Access Code: 1024669#.
Executive Board email: contactswwaapa@gmail.com

President Sarah Fox, AICP
City of Camas
(360) 817-1562 ext. 4269
Sfox@cityofcamas.us
President-Elect Patrick Sweeney, AICP

Toole Design Group
(503) 205-4607 xt. 331
psweeney@tooledesign.com

Immediate Past-President Amanda Smeller  
Treasurer Jocelyn Cross Olson Engineering
(360) 695-1385
jocelyn@olsonengr.com
Secretary Sam Rubin BergerABAM
(360) 823-6115
sam.rubin@abam.com
Clark County Representative Gary Albrecht, AICP
Clark County
(360) 397-2280 ext. 4318
gary.albrecht@clark.wa.gov
Cowlitz County Representative

Jason Lugo 

 Cowlitz County 

360-577-3052 xt. 6677 
lugoj@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Skamania County Representative Ben Shumaker City of Skamania
(509) 427-5970
ben@ci.stevenson.wa.us
Education Coordinator VACANT  
Professional Development Co-Chair

Nick Fazio

Cowlitz County
360-577-3052 x6664
fazion@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Professional Development Co-Chair

Judith Perez

WSDOT SW Region
(360) 905-2053
perezjud@wsdot.wa.gov

Communications Officer Don Hardy BergerABAM
(360) 823-6115
don.hardy@abam.com
Legislative Liaison Brian Carrico BergerABAM
(360) 823-6122
brian.carrico@abam.com