Southwest

+Complete Section Listing

The Southwest Section is committed to promoting sound planning practices based on ethical principles to help the community improve its quality of life, realize its goals, and secure its future.

Upcoming Events

  • May 16th 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Executive Board Meeting. Location to be announced.
  • May 17th 5:30 – 8:30 p.m. Starting and ending at Loowit Brewing Company (Directions). Join us for a Couve Cycle tour of downtown Vancouver! This is a return event as we had such a blast last year. There will be room for ten to peddle and a few extra seats for those that just want to relax.
    • More details will be posted as the event nears.
  • July 18th 9:00 – 12:00 p.m.– Summer Planners Forum | WSDOT Training Room #124, 11018 NE 51st Cir, Vancouver, WA 98682. The agenda will include:
    • LiDAR Mapping in the Columbia River Gorge, Stephen Slaughter, DNR
    • Project Management in the Public and Private Sectors  – A Panel Discussion
      • Patrick Sweeney,  Senior Planner with Toole Design Group  
      • Elaine Placido, Cowlitz County Building and Planning Director
      • Carley Francis, Regional Planning Director WSDOT Southwest Region
    • Join us for the SW WA APA executive board meeting over lunch following the forum!

Also, keep up-to-date and connect with us on Facebook!

Section Bylaws

The bylaws are the organizing and operating protocols for the SW Section. The board would like to amend our bylaws at the next membership meeting during lunch at the Critical Areas Workshop on April 11th. The changes will include removing the position of Education Coordinator, as an active committee and changing the duties of our Communications Chair to be responsible for our electronic communication (e.g. Facebook and Linkedin), versus publishing a newsletter. Please review the draft and provide comments to our Executive Director Board. View draft bylaws. View section bylaws. For those of you unable to attend the April 11th meeting, a ballot will be sent with your monthly emails.

Strategic Plan

The Southwest Section exists to support our members, to advance the planning profession and to make communities great. The Strategic Plan includes prioritized goals, strategies and actions items to be accomplished over a two-year period.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors meets for a conference call on the third Wednesday of every month at 12:00 p.m. except for January, April, July, and October when the Board meets at 12 noon at the SW Planners Forum (location varies).

Conference Call-Instructions: (513) 386-0000. Participant Access Code: 1024669#.
Executive Board email: contactswwaapa@gmail.com

President Sarah Fox, AICP
City of Camas
(360) 817-1562 ext. 4269
Sfox@cityofcamas.us
President-Elect Patrick Sweeney, AICP

Toole Design Group
(503) 205-4607 xt. 331
psweeney@tooledesign.com

Immediate Past-President Amanda Smeller  
Treasurer Jocelyn Cross Olson Engineering
(360) 695-1385
jocelyn@olsonengr.com
Secretary Sam Rubin BergerABAM
(360) 823-6115
sam.rubin@abam.com
Clark County Representative Gary Albrecht, AICP
Clark County
(360) 397-2280 ext. 4318
gary.albrecht@clark.wa.gov
Cowlitz County Representative

Jason Lugo 

 Cowlitz County 

360-577-3052 xt. 6677 
lugoj@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Skamania County Representative Ben Shumaker City of Skamania
(509) 427-5970
ben@ci.stevenson.wa.us
Education Coordinator VACANT  
Professional Development Co-Chair

Nick Fazio

Cowlitz County
360-577-3052 x6664
fazion@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Professional Development Co-Chair

Judith Perez

WSDOT SW Region
(360) 905-2053
perezjud@wsdot.wa.gov

Communications Officer Don Hardy BergerABAM
(360) 823-6115
don.hardy@abam.com
Legislative Liaison Brian Carrico BergerABAM
(360) 823-6122
brian.carrico@abam.com