Southwest

+Complete Section Listing

The Southwest Section is committed to promoting sound planning practices based on ethical principles to help the community improve its quality of life, realize its goals, and secure its future.

Upcoming Events

  • December 20th 12:00 p.m. Board Meeting | Main Event Sports Grill 3200 SE 164th Ave.
  • January 16, 2018 9:00 a.m. SW WA Planners Forum | Location TBD
  • January 16th 12:00 p.m. SW Section General Meeting | Location TBD
  • April 11th 9:00 – 4:00 p.m. GMA Critical Areas Training | Vancouver City Hall

Section Bylaws

The bylaws are the organizing and operating protocols for the SW Section. The board would like to amend our bylaws at the next membership meeting on January 16, 2018, following the SW Planners Forum. The changes will include removing the position of Education Coordinator, as an active committee and changing the duties of our Communications Chair to be responsible for our electronic communication (e.g. Facebook and Linkedin), versus publishing a newsletter. The draft version will be posted here approximately a month prior to the membership meeting (check back soon). View section bylaws.

Strategic Plan

The Southwest Section exists to support our members, to advance the planning profession and to make communities great. The Strategic Plan includes prioritized goals, strategies and actions items to be accomplished over a two-year period.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors meets for a conference call on the third Wednesday of every month at 12:00 p.m. except for January, April, July, and October when the Board meets at 12 noon at the SW Planners Forum (location varies).

Conference Call-Instructions: (513) 386-0000. Participant Access Code: 1024669#.

President Sarah Fox, AICP
City of Camas
(360) 817-1562 ext. 4269
Sfox@cityofcamas.us
President-Elect Patrick Sweeney, AICP

City of Vancouver
(360) 487-7954
patrick.sweeney@cityvancouver.us

Immediate Past-President Amanda Smeller  
Treasurer Jocelyn Cross Olson Engineering
(360) 695-1385
jocelyn@olsonengr.com
Secretary Sam Rubin BergerABAM
(360) 823-6115
sam.rubin@abam.com
Clark County Representative Gary Albrecht, AICP
Clark County
(360) 397-2280 ext. 4318
gary.albrecht@clark.wa.gov
Cowlitz County Representative VACANT  
Skamania County Representative Ben Shumaker City of Skamania
(509) 427-5970
ben@ci.stevenson.wa.us
Education Coordinator VACANT  
Professional Development Co-Chair

Nick Fazio

Cowlitz County
360-577-3052 x6664
fazion@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Professional Development Co-Chair

Judith Perez

WSDOT SW Region
(360) 905-2053
perezjud@wsdot.wa.gov

Communications Officer Don Hardy BergerABAM
(360) 823-6115
don.hardy@abam.com
Legislative Liaison Brian Carrico BergerABAM
(360) 823-6122
brian.carrico@abam.com