Join Us

For 2016, the Big Ideas Initiative is working with Vice President Josh Peters and the Legislative Committee to develop a legislative agenda, develop partnerships with other organizations, and foster change in state laws, regulations, and funding practices. To participate in that process, please contact: Josh Peters.

To learn more about the Big Ideas for Washington’s Future, to comment on our products, or to participate in our future efforts, please contact: Jill Sterrett

I’d like to offer many, many thanks to the leaders of the Big Ideas efforts and the hundreds of APA members and allied professionals who were involved over this 4-year effort.  For the record – and for future contacts on these important issues - the list below identifies the leaders of these various efforts and their contact information.

Working Group

Leaders

Email

Address Climate Change

Lyn Keenan
Nicole Faghin
Jill Sterrett

lkeenan03@gmail.com
Faghin@uw.edu 
jill.sterrett@gmail.com

Enhance Regional Decision-making & Local Government Capacity

Yonn Dierwechter

yonn@uw.edu

Restore and Protect Eco-Systems

Laura Hudson

llh2747@yahoo.com

Planning for Healthy Communities

Julie Bassuk

JulieB@makersarch.com

Support Economic Development

Mark Goodman

mark@communityattributes.com

Foster Social Equity

Rachel Miller

RachelM@makersarch.com

Support Sustainable Agriculture and Health Food Systems

Kara Martin

Kara@healthycommunityplanning.com

Build Social Capital

John Owen

JohnO@makersarch.com

Rebuild Infrastructure

Rhys Roth

rothr@evergreen.edu

Videos

Leaders

Email

Adaptive Planning for Climate Resilience

Nicole Faghin
Jill Sterrett
Laura Hudson

Faghin@uw.edu
jill.sterrrett@gmail.com
llh2747@yahoo.com

Regional Collaboration

Yonn Dierwechter

yonn@uw.edu

Building Social Capital

John Owen

JohnO@makersarch.com

Inclusive Growth

Rachel Miller

RachelM@makersarch.com

Investing in Community Workforce

Stacia Jenkins

staciasjenkins@gmail.com

Green Stormwater Infrastructure

Tye Ferrell

tyefer@gmail.com

Planning for Healthy Communities

Julie Bassuk

JulieB@makersarch.com

Climate Change Discussion Briefs 

Leaders

Email

Planning for Climate Change Adaptation

Amy Tarce
Dana Spindler

halcyonplan@msn.com
Dana.Spindler@icfi.com

Vulnerability Assessments

Joyce Phillips

joyce.phillips@commerce.wa.gov

Addressing Climate Change through Disaster Planning

Tom Donnelly

Thomas.Donnelly@fema.dhs.gov

Energy

Andy Swayne
Andy Marcos
Nicole Sanders

andy.swayne@pse.com
andy.markos@pse.com
NSanders@ci.snoqualmie.wa.us

Creating Compact Communities

Lyn Keenan

lkeenan03@gmail.com

Mobility

Karena Houser
Lyn Keenan

HouserK@wsdot.wa.gov
lkeenan03@gmail.com

Ecosystem Health and Ecosystem Services

Laura Hudson

llh2747@yahoo.com

Encouraging Green Building Practices

Jake Tracy

jake.tracy88@gmail.com

Social Equity and Climate Change

Jill Sterrett

jill.sterrett@gmail.com

Public Health

Chuck Wallace

cwallace@co.grays-harbor.wa.us.

Food Production and Agriculture

Megan Horst

mhorst@pdx.edu

Extreme Weather Events

Joyce Philips

joyce.phillips@commerce.wa.gov

Disaster Preparedness

Chuck Wallace

cwallace@co.grays-harbor.wa.us.

Emergency Management

Chuck Wallace

cwallace@co.grays-harbor.wa.us.

Fire Hazards

Jakki Maclean

jakki.maclean@co.yakima.wa.us

Flooding

Nicole Faghin
Bob Frietag

Faghin@uw.edu

Sea Level Rise

Joyce Philips

joyce.phillips@commerce.wa.gov

alt