Annual Awards for Excellence in Planning

Each year, the chapter presents awards to projects and plans that demonstrate excellence.

The Planning Association of Washington and American Planning Association Washington Chapter, are pleased to continue the tradition of the Annual Joint Planning Awards Program.

2017 Joint APA-PAW Planning Award Recipients

Award Winners and Honorable Mention Selections

Category 2017 Award Plan 2017 Award Recipient
Students Blueprint for a Sustainable Living Village: Kioni Village, Ithica, Greece Western Washington University, Huxley College Urban Planning Program
Implementation Complete Streets Award Program Washington Transportation Improvement Board, MIG/SvR
Planning - Large Cities and Counties Olympia Downtown Strategy

Downtown Stakeholder Work Group, Consultant team: MAKERS, SvR, Steinbrueck Urban Strategies, The Athena Group, Property Counselors, and 3 Square Blocks

Planning - Small Cities and Counties Tahola Village Relocation Master Plan Quinault Indian Nation
Planning - Small Cities and Counties
Honorable Mention
Anacortes 2016 Comprehensive Plan

Mayor Laurie Gere, Anacortes City Council ,Anacortes Planning Commission, 2016 Comprehensive Plan Community Advisory Committee, Consultant team: MAKERS, 3 Square Blocks, Property Counselors, TSINW

Planning - Small Cities and Counties
Honorable Mention

Twisp Economic Revitalization Master Plan

Town of Twisp, Twisp Mayor Soo Ing-Moody, SCJ Alliance

Transportation Planning By the Way Plan City of Mukilteo
Transportation Planning
Honorable Mention
City of Seattle Freight Master Plan Seattle Department of Transportation


The awards program is intended to bring attention and deserved recognition to public and private sector planning efforts, as well as student projects in university planning programs.  Specific details concerning the awards program are available as part of the nomination form.

The past award winners are shown below.